• Advertisement

Changing abrasive

• Advertisement

Changing abrasive

Postby KikiTopaz » June 20th, 2013, 8:14 pm

I've been using silicone carbide since I started blasting last fall. I believe it's time to get more abrasive. I can order SC through Ikonics up north but then shipping is probably expensive. Otherwise, I have a local supplier that carries Aluminum Oxide. The place is only five miles from home. What would you do?
If I change to AO, will I have to try to remove all of the SC in my cabinet? I do have my shop vac back in working condition.
I'm not sure what to do. I've never used AO before. I know most people like sticking with what they are used to. I sure would appreciate any comments you have or personal experiences.
Thank you! Kari
Corelx6 graphic suite, Ingersoll Rand 60gal air compressor, Ikonics Crystal blast Pro cabinet.
Kari aka KikiTopaz
http://www.mainstreet-etch.com
KikiTopaz

Re: Changing abrasive

Postby JESS » June 20th, 2013, 9:05 pm

Kari-
The best medium is SC. If you swap to AO you will get shocked much more often, and it will not last as long. SC breaks down as you use it, to simply a finer grade of abrasive. Do not throw it away! The finer abrasive that it becomes is VERY useful! I no longer dispose of used SC, it works great until it has broken down to pure dust, which is picked up by your dust collector. Simply add fresh abrasive to your booth or cabinet, and continue working. If you have a decent dust collection system, you will not need to do a complete change out. If you would like more information, feel free to IM me. It's pretty simple stuff!
Jess
JESS
Site Admin

Postby David Takes » June 21st, 2013, 5:12 am

I will second what Jess recommended. SC is the way to continue. I have all kinds of local suppliers, but I still have it shipped from Detroit Abrasives. Get a quote from them and compare to ALL other options.
David Takes
Expressions Engraved
St. Joseph, Missouri
http://www.expressionsengraved.com
David Takes