• Advertisement

UV Direct Print on Glass

This is for discussion of all topics of interest to our members.
  • Advertisement

UV Direct Print on Glass

Postby BobH » July 14th, 2015, 10:53 am

I can't say I'm an expert in printing on glass, but I have printed on glass and have easy access to some experts. I have a Direct Color Systems (DCS) UV Direct print that uses Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, Black, White and Clear inks and can print in 3D textures. I have been UV printing for 2-1/2 years.

To print on glass, raw metal and acrylics and wipe on treatment is recommended. For metal and glass I use BOHLE METAL-GLASS PRIMER FOR FULL COLOR UV PRINTING - BO 5209489. It is not sold by DCS (they sell another product) but this product is also recommended by them and works best. You simply wipe it on and it dries immediately. Printing on glass without it works fine but with the treatment is much more durable.

As the inks are immediately dried by the UV light, there is no drying time and the product is ready to go. As the inks are UV cured, they are UV stable. I have left UV prints in the sunlight for two years without any noticeable change in color. I have tried removing the inks with alcohol, citrus based cleaners, plastic cleaners, paint thinner and even acetone. No ink was removed. I have to scrape it off with a razor blade and that is not an easy task. Mistakes can be costly. So far i have printed on raw and painted metals including powder coated, plastics and acrylics of all sorts, wood, leather and glass. You cannot print on very slick plastics or rubber products such as silicone.

Products have to be fairly fairly flat (or round with the EasyCyl as described below). Any thing sticking up will hit the print head so it would have to be removed in order to print.