• Advertisement

How should I deal with time suckers?

Here's a place for members to advertise and offer services to other members.
  • Advertisement

How should I deal with time suckers?

Postby jeffwerfree » February 20th, 2013, 10:18 am

I'm new to this blasting business and have only had a few jobs. It seems like the target market in the area is lonely old men who like to talk way too much. I'm talking about a 3 hr meeting to talk about a tiny window. We spend about 30 minutes talking about the project AFTER sitting for 2 1/2 hours learning anything and everything about these kind of people. How can I kindly tell them that I don't have time to listen to their life story?

The only thing that I can think of is offering a 1 or 2 hour free consultation then turning the clock on and charging them for the time in the final cost of the project. This wouldn't work if I spend 5 hours talking to a client that decides not to purchase.

How do you deal with the time-suckers in the industry?
jeffwerfree

Re: How should I deal with time suckers?

Postby LVDave » February 20th, 2013, 10:35 am

Is this at a farmer's market, craft fair or a walk in shop?
LVDave

Postby Terry W » February 20th, 2013, 11:04 am

Make a polite sign stating that this is your job and you are on the clock and so are they!

I just had a small job for someone $85. 15 e-mails later and no less than 10 calls. Just chalked it up to a learning refresher.
Terry
Terry W

Postby jeffwerfree » February 20th, 2013, 11:11 am

I have been meeting these clients in their homes.
jeffwerfree

Postby LVDave » February 20th, 2013, 11:30 am

I have done that once but did not have that problem. stated to them as I arrived that I had limited time and had other obligations. Terry's sign in the shop is a good idea. It is all a learning experience.
LVDave

Postby bernie » February 20th, 2013, 8:16 pm

I have been on your website and since your family has a art studio ... how do you guys handle it in the shop?